Warning: copy(/var/www/html/wp-content/wflogs//GeoLite2-Country.mmdb): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /var/www/html/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/lib/wordfenceClass.php on line 2115
Council of Aboriginal Women of South Australia – Picturing Democracy

Council of Aboriginal Women of South Australia

The Council was formed in 1964 by a group of women including Gladys Elphick, Faith Thomas, Maud Tongerie, Ruby Hammond, Natasha McNamara and Lois (Lowitja) O’Donoghue. The council employed a social worker and established sporting clubs and arts and crafts groups. Members worked for Aboriginal rights, including campaigning for the ‘Yes’ vote in the 1967 referendum. Members of the Council also established a women’s shelter and health service, and worked to set up a legal service and a kindergarten. In 1973 the organisation changed its name to the Aboriginal Council of South Australia and admitted men.